Take a bow, the show is over

I know some people (and these are not close friends) that are in a desperate need of a personality makeover. Not because they are boring for others but it's so obvious that they are fed up with themselves. How much fun can that be?


I got fed up with myself when I was 22. I remember it clearly when I saw a video of myself thinking: Please let that be someone else ‘cause I can't be that loud. I still talk as much as I did back then but not as loud and I don't have to prove myself anymore. I know me, if you don't, get to know me or don't. I really don't care anymore. The time when you had to be loved by everyone has passed. Having a need to please all is never good for you and it's no fun for anyone else.


Going in to town this Thursday, I was standing on the platform at Gullmarsplan waiting for the train to arrive. I didn't realise how cold it was outside until I got there but it was too late to go back and change my outfit. So I stood there with my strappy sandals and a short skirt. The sun was nowhere to be seen and yes, I was freezing. A woman in her forties looked at me as if she was disgusted with me for having such a short skirt in that weather. She frowned and shook her head and muttered something no one could hear. I got so fed up with her, because people were starting to notice her and what and who (me) she was shaking her head at. So I took my skirt between the tips of my fingers and did one of those curtseys that females used to do when they greeted people. I went down real low with a look on my face that said: you're welcome and then I kept that mocking smile on my lips until she turned away with a red face. The people around me laughed and all I could think was: Why the hell did I do that for?!


But then I remembered why I did it: I just don't care what they think and maybe by doing that the 40 year old virgin who looked at me like that will leave a poor 14 year old girl, with no sense of style, alone next time, and not stare at her for wearing hotpants or shorts that leaves nothing to the imagination. I'm not keeping my fingers crossed about that, but as I always say: A girl can dream. Maybe one day we will accept each other for what we are and then we will dare to be who we really want to be. Maybe those people I know who needs a personality makeover wont need to get one, ‘cause they can get out of their shells and be themselves. Wouldn't that be awesome?


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0